This is a forum for Styx members
HomeFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

 Parliament of New Zealand

Go down 

Posts : 316
Join date : 2011-03-04

PostSubject: Parliament of New Zealand   Tue Nov 29, 2011 7:35 pm

The Parliament of New Zealand (in Māori: Pāremata Aotearoa) consists of the Queen of New Zealand and the New Zealand House of Representatives and, until 1951, the New Zealand Legislative Council. The House of Representatives is often referred to as "Parliament".
The House of Representatives usually consists of 120 Members of Parliament (MPs), sometimes more due to overhang seats. MPs are directly elected by universal suffrage. The form of New Zealand government essentially follows the Westminster system, and the government is led by the Prime Minister and cabinet who are chosen from amongst the members of the House of Representatives.
Parliament is physically located in Wellington, the capital city of New Zealand since 1865

Childcare Franchise
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Parliament of New Zealand
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» eNew Zealand cabinet

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
STYX :: General (Public Area) :: Guild Affiliated :: Do you need access for the foum?-
Jump to: